Welcome Message

Dear Respected Colleagues and Friends,

A warm welcome to the 22nd IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Distributed Simulation and Real-Time Applications (DS-RT 2018), held this year in Madrid, Spain.

Madrid is the capital of Spain and the largest municipality in Spain as a whole. The city has almost 3.166 million inhabitants with a metropolitan area population of approximately 6.5 million. It is the third-largest city in the European Union. The city is full of great monuments, like the royal palace, the Plaza Mayor or the many statuettes, and for people interested in art, the museums Del Prado, Reina Sofia or Thyssen have some of the most fantastic collections of famous Spanish painters like Velazquez, Goya, Picasso or Miro.

DS-RT serves as a forum for simulationists from academia, industry and research labs, for presenting recent research results that target the growing overlap between large distributed simulations and real time applications. A total of 67 papers have been submitted, of which 31 have been accepted for presentation and publication as regular papers. The program is completed by 3 demo papers and 2 posters. The accepted papers this year are grouped into the following sessions: Agent-based Modeling and Simulation, Grand Challenges in Distributed Simulation and Real Time Applications, Distributed Simulations of Distributed Systems, Large-scale Simulations, 5G Infrastructures, Real-Time Systems and HLA-based Modeling and Simulation.

This year program opens with a keynote speech on "Credible Simulation Models - Provenance beyond Reproducibility", given by Prof. Adelinde Uhrmacher from the University of Rostock, Germany. A second relevant keynote speech on "Smart Emergency Preparedness and Response: A new Challenges for the Next Generation of Distributed Simulation, Wireless Sensor and Vehicular Networks" will be given by Prof. Azzedine Boukerche from University of Ottawa, Canada.

In keeping with the DS-RT tradition, a Best Paper Committee (chaired by Eva Besada) will select the DS-RT 2018 Best Paper Award from the most highly ranked papers by reviewers. The Best Paper Award last year went to "Parallel Sort-Based Matching for Data Distribution Management on Shared-Memory Multiprocessors", authored by Moreno Marzolla and Gabriele D'Angelo (University of Bologna, Italy). The candidates for this year's best paper are (in no particular order):

  • Exploring Execution Schemes for Agent-Based Traffic Simulation on Heterogeneous Hardware, Jiajian Xiao (TUMCREATE, Singapore); Philipp Andelfinger (TUMCREATE, Singapore); David Eckhoff (TUMCREATE, Singapore); Wentong Cai (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore); Alois Knoll (Technical University Munich Garching, Germany)
  • Exploiting Adaptive Ladder Queue into Repast Simulation Platform, Angelo Furfaro (University of Calabria, Italy); Ludovica Sacco (University of Calabria, Italy)
  • SMILEY: A Mixed-Criticality Real-Time Task Scheduler for Multicore Systems, Alen K Sabu (BITS-Pilani, India); Biju K Raveendran (BITS-Pilani, India); Rituparna Ghosh (BITS-Pilani, India)

The Best Paper Award will be announced during the conference.

Many individuals and institutions are contributing to the success of this leading modeling and simulation conference. Special thanks go to our sponsors, IEEE Computer Society and ACM SIGSIM, and to the editorial staff at IEEE Conference Publication Services for their work in producing our proceedings. My thanks also go to all members of the Organization Committee for their tireless efforts. It is being truly a team effort. The committee consists of:

  • General Chair: José Luis Risco Martín, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
  • Program Co-Chairs:
    • Eva Besada, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
    • Floriano De Rango, University of Calabria, Italy
  • Special Sessions Chair: Robson De Grande, Brock University, Canada
  • Local Organization Chair: Josué Pagán, Technical University of Madrid, Spain
  • Financial Chair: Guillermo Botella, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
  • Registration Chair: Luis de la Torre, Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia, Spain
  • Publicity Chair: Lucas Potter, Old Dominion University, VA, USA
  • Publication Chair: Óscar Rodríguez Polo, Universidad de Alcalá, Spain
  • Poster Chair: Peppino Fazio, University of Calabria, Italy
  • Demo Chair: Amilcare Francesco Santamaria, University of Calabria, Italy
  • Web Chair: Robson De Grande, Brock University, Canada

Moreover, thanks to the Technical Program Committee that is doing a good job promoting the respective research topics and distributing the call for papers.

I am very grateful for the efforts of all of the volunteers that will dedicate their time and effort to review and edit all of the submissions and thus make this gathering possible. I also express my gratitude to authors and tutorial presenters for their important contributions.

Welcome to DS-RT’18

José L. Risco Martín, Ph.D.
General Chair DS-RT 2018
Complutense University of Madrid, Spain